A Lovely Day For a Surprise

Every now and then it becomes necessary to break the routine and make someone’s day just a little bit better. That’s what happened for me this morning, and that’s what I hope to do for the others you’ll see listed below.

Laura Stanfill has shared with me the Versatile Blogger Award. Laura’s blog deals with writing, reading, and talking about writing and reading. Her posts help me not only to be motivated sometimes, but also to find inspiration when I feel it is lacking. I couldn’t have found a more wonderful surprise when I checked my blog this morning. Thank you, Laura. You helped my day to start off on the right foot.

Now, with this award, I need to:

-Thank the awarder and link back to her blog (or his, whatever the case may be)

-Share seven things about myself

-And pass this award on to fifteen blogs I’ve recently discovered

Easy, right? We’ll see. So here goes:

7 Things

  • I still like to buy those gallon-size bottles of bubbles at Wal-Mart during the summer time.
  • I like to dance when no one is looking, although I’m really, really bad at it.
  • I have two dogs, and they are my absolute besties. They have to be; they know too much about me.
  • I have a party in my mind every time I check my blog and see that someone actually read it.
  • I love farmers’ markets. It saddens me that they are ending for the season.
  • I am a very passionate person. If I take up your cause, whatever it may be, I will see it through to the end, and it will seem like the only thing that matters.
  • I am a fierce friend. When I allow someone into my life, that person becomes family. I feel a deeply entrenched sense of loyalty, sometimes to my own detriment.

Now, I’m still scouring the blogosphere to find writers with interests similar to my own. And to find those that make me laugh. Or feel better about my humanity. The blogs you see here are some that have provided inspiration, amusement, motivation, and a general sense of community. Here goes:

Bekah the Merrymaker– Bekah’s blog deals specifically with fashion. She’s one of the sassiest, hippest, coolest people I know, and even though I can never hope to achieve the same level of ensemble awesomeness that Bekah has, her blog still gives me an insight into new ways of doing (and wearing) things.

Kate Shrewsday– Kate possesses talent I only wish I had. She blogs about her life, but she writes in a way that makes even an ordinary day in the garden into a fabulous story. She includes a lot of history in her posts, which I find to be fascinating because she doesn’t use the boring stuff, the stuff of textbooks. She provides little insights into lesser known (to me anyway) historical characters.

A.P. Alessandri– I enjoy this blog because its author and I have a lot in common, particularly when it comes to genre of interest. She writes personal essay and memoir, which is what I aspire to do someday.

Valerie Fletcher Adolph– Val’s blog You’re a Writer! has been really helpful for me. I find inspiration both in her posts and in her accomplishments.

Presents of Mind– I also feel like I have a lot in common with this blogger. From trying to figure out my own process to admiring the processes of others, it always feels good to know that we’re not alone.

Monica’s Tangled Web– I really like how Monica writes her story, things that are happening or have happened in her life. I also really enjoy her style of writing. The tone keeps me engaged.

Easy Reading is Damned Hard Writing– If you’ve ever experienced the fatigue of writing, how true is that?! I like that this blog explores the complexity of being successful when it comes to conveying emotion and human nature.

Jen Farhat– Jen’s style is straightforward and to the point. Her style and tone are honest, making her blog refreshing. It’s nice to read someone who isn’t pandering to anyone in particular.

Nothing to Read Here– This blog is new to me, but I’m really enjoying it. Once again, part of the awesomeness that is the blogosphere is that we get to interact with people who are like we are. This blog is honest in that its author embraces his potential for growth and expansion.

Monique– The concept of this blog is completely awesome! The stories are entertaining, and they have a way of drawing the reader back to the blog. Awesome!

I realize that I am five blogs short of fifteen. I’m not so terrible at math that I can’t figure that. However, I am limited on time right now. I’ll try to feature one new blogger every couple of days to make up for the shortage. In the meantime, check these folks out. They really are worth the read!

Thanks again to Laura for passing on the honor!

5 Comments on “A Lovely Day For a Surprise”

  1. taureanw says:

    Thx for the shout out I appreciate it!

    Also thx for reminding me about the gallon size bubble solution!!!! Talk about things that are lost during adolescence. As a kid I could go through one of those in less than an hour. That is a memory I am going to have to recreate šŸ™‚

  2. And now you’ve made my morning, thank you! And I have six new bloggers to check out…I love your seven things, but most of all, your two dogs.

  3. Hi there! Thanks so much for liking my blog enough for this. šŸ™‚ I’m working on the list and will be posting soon (I hope!) This was definitely a nice surprise and made my day. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

